Maltese passport holders can access 144-hour visa-free transit in China

(source: Unsplash/Zhaoyang Chai)

Last Updated on Tuesday, 13 August, 2019 at 11:02 am by Christian Keszthelyi

Holders of a Maltese passport became eligible to a 144-hour visa-free transit in five Chinese cities, approved by China’s State Council, effective as of 1 January 2019, according to a press statement by the Qingdao Municipal Tourism Development Committee. Beyond Malta, 52 other countries can benefit from the scheme.

With the approval of China’s State Council, Qingdao implemented the 144-hour visa-free transit policy in five cities including Qingdao. This is further enhancement of the 72-hour visa-free transit policy currently in effect, according to the exit and entry administration of the Shandong provincial public security bureau, the press statement adds.

Holders of Maltese passport, who can show valid international travel documents and a connecting flight ticket bound for a third country or region with a valid ticket and a set departure date within 144 hours of entry into the country, can enter or exit from Qingdao’s airports and seaports and move about within the administrative area of Shandong Province for 144 hours, visa-free, according to the press statement.

Along with the extension of the visa-free stay time from 72 hours to 144 hours, the number of entry and exit ports also grew from being limited to only airports to include both airports and seaports in Qingdao.

The countries for which the policy is applicable are determined by the number of entry and transit points as well as the roster of inbound and outbound international flights. To maintain the uniformity of the policy, qualified countries for the 144-hour transit visa-free policy will be the same as those enjoying the 72-hour free transit policy.

Applicable countries for the visa-free transit policy are as follows: Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and the United States.

- Advertisement -