MEPs filling the ranks of five new committees. Maltese MEP Dalli on cancer committee

Last Updated on Friday, 10 July, 2020 at 2:09 pm by Andre Camilleri

On Friday the names of the MEPs who will sit on the new committees established in June were announced.

  • Members’ lists announced for new subcommittee, three special committees and a committee of inquiry
  • Committees to focus on taxation, artificial intelligence, foreign interference, cancer and animal transport

All the names are available here. Maltese MEP Miriam Dalli (S&D) will sit on the Special Committee on Beating Cancer.

The members of these committees are chosen by the political groups, which communicate their selection to Parliament’s President. Each political group is allocated a number of seats in proportion to the number of MEPs it accounts for in the whole of the EP.

The chairs and vice-chairs of each committee will be decided at the constitutive meetings in September.

In its June plenary session, the Parliament established a subcommittee on taxation, three special committees – one on cancer, another on artificial intelligence and a third on foreign interference, and a committee of inquiry on animal transport.

Each special committee is composed of 33 members, whereas the subcommittee and committee of inquiry have 30 members each.

- Advertisement -