MHRA elects new Council, Tony Zahra reconfirmed as President

Last Updated on Monday, 12 December, 2022 at 9:45 am by Andre Camilleri

Following the 64th Annual General Meeting of the Malta Hotels and Restaurants Association (MHRA) the newly elected Council members reconfirmed Tony Zahra as MHRA President for the coming three years. George Micallef and Kevin Decesare have been elected as MHRA Deputy Presidents, and Vincent Degiorgio as Treasurer. The following were elected as Council Members representing the wide spectrum of hotels and restaurants across Malta and Gozo; Norbert Grixti, Simon De Cesare, Alexandra Pisani, Andy Tanti, Ivan Borg Ferrando, Rosie Grech, Jankarl Farrugia, Neal Debono, Salvatore Piccione, Richard Cleland and Jason Degiorgio.

MHRA Tony Zahra thanked the members for the trust in his leadership and commended the MHRA Council and executive for their hard work in supporting advocacy efforts with stakeholders.  Reacting to the discussions which ensued amongst the newly elected Council, Mr Zahra asserted that energy prices will remain top on the agenda, this as international politics and conflicts keep affecting the global economic scenario, along with the future of Airmalta and related connectivity matters; employment, training and the retainment of staff; sustainability issues with a special focus on the environment and waste management practices; the upgrading and upkeep of the tourism product  infrastructure; and policies which support the development of the luxury tourism segment.

Since 1958, the MHRA is a membership based organisation and acts as the main representative of hotels and restaurants across the Malteses islands by advocating on behalf of the tourism, travel and hospitality sector with Government and other key stakeholders.

- Advertisement -